Evaluation System

Examinations are an indespensible part of the educational process as some form of assessment is necessary to determine the effectiveness of the teaching learning processes and their utilization by learners. Various commissions and committees have felt the need of examination reforms and thus have made recommendations regarding reducing emphasis on external examinations and encouraging internal assessment through continuous and comprehensive Evaluation CCE. CCE refers to a system of school based evaluation of students that covers all aspects of student’s development. The term “continuous” means regularity of assessment, frequency of unit testing, diagnosis of learning gaps, use of corrective measures, retesting and feed back of evidence to teachers and students for their self evaluation. The second term “comprehensive” means that the scheme attempts to cover the both scholastic and co-scholastic aspects of students growth and development. The desirable behaviour related to the learner’s knowledge, understanding, application, evaluation, analysis and creating in subjects and the ability to apply it in an unfamiliar situation are some of the objectives of scholastic aspects. Where as the desirable behaviour related to learner’s life skills, attitudes, interests, values, co-curricular activities and physical health are described as skills to be acquired in co-scholastic aspects. Continuous and comprehensive evaluation system should cover all learning experiences of scholastic subjects and co-scholastic areas.

In order to improve the teaching and learning process, assessment should be both Formative and Summative Assesment. Formative Assesment is carried out during a course of instruction for providing continuous feedback to both the teachers and the learners for taking decisions regarding appropriate modifications in the transactional procedures and learning activities. Summative Assessment is carried out at the end of a course of learning. It measures or sum up how much a student has learned from the course. Till 2006 this CCA was decided to extend upto class VIII. But now the certificate of School Based Assesment on continuous Comprehensive Assesment will be available from the CBSE at the end of class X with effect from the year 2011. The certificate will have 3 parts.

Part 1 consists of the Evaluation of Scholastic Attainments which will be reflected for classes IX and X in the form of nine point grading scale.

Part 2 consists of co-scholastic areas where participants are assessed in two parts –
      (A) Life skills: which is assessed by five point grading scale and
      (B) Attitudes and values: which is assessed by three point grading scale.

Part 3 Consists of co-scholastic areas where in choice in participation and assessment thereof is available. It is assessed by 3 point grading scale. Our school provides the following activities

  • Sports (Football, Cricket )
  • Yoga
  • Rock climbing
  • Scouting & Guiding
  • First Aid
  • Gardening

The nine point grading scale for measuring scholastic achievement is given below:

91 - 100 A1 10.00
81 - 90 A2 9.00
71 - 80 B1 8.00
61 - 70 B2 7.00
51 - 60 C1 6.00
41 - 50 C2 5.00
31 - 40 D 4.00
21 - 32 E1  
00 - 20 E2  

All assessment with regard to the academic status of the student shall be done in marks and overall assessment will be given in grades. School based continuous and comprehensive Evaluation system is established to fulfilling the following objectives:

  • To reduce stress on children
  • To make evaluation comprehensive and regular
  • To provide space for the teacher for creative teaching
  • To provide a tool of diagnosis and remediation
  • To produce learners with greater skills

The school has already implemented this continuous and comprehensive Evaluation System to assess the students.

© 1952-2017 Vinay Nagar Bengali Senior Secondary School. All Rights Reserved.